iPhone 3.0 Software Updates

March 17, 2009 § 2 Comments

Apple recently released the previews for the 3.0 iPhone software update. A lot of interesting updates were announced, at a pretty crucial time (read: Palm Pre’s recent release). Although the updates won’t be available for users for a few months, developers will be able to start developing new apps before the mass-release. Below are some basic pro’s and con’s for me –

PROS: 1. New batch of apps from app developers

2. copy + paste: Finally, this has been a long time coming. I have tried some of the third-party apps but they have been nothing much to speak of.

3. MMS: this will be a nice addition, although I don’t find myself sending too many media messages via text. I’ve been happy using the email functionality or posting media on the web.

4. SMS forwarding: again, nice addition, but haven’t really found a need for it in the past. Maybe if it’s available I’ll make use of it.

5. Multiple photos in 1 E-mail message: this is something that I have found the need for in the past. Looking forward to having this feature to use.

6. Spotlight feature on home page: I have about 5 pages of apps, so this will come in handy, although like most iPhone users there are a handful that I use most often.

CONS: 1. The most glaring con is definitely that there is still no-flash available for the iPhone. Hope this get’s changed soon.

2. I can see a hardware change coming soon, which means I will probably want to buy the new device. Which means I will need money.

Looking forward to upgrading and playing around with the new software.

§ 2 Responses to iPhone 3.0 Software Updates

  • Vic Iyer says:

    Dude, i heard somewhere they were talking about Flash being available real soon for the iphone. I’ll try to find it and post you the link.

  • Gaurav Dubey says:

    I’ve actually been doing a lot of iPhone development for a research project. Apple’s SDK is pretty sweet, but the main problem I’ve been facing is the lack of a nice way to get files off the device.

    The project involves test subjects performing a number of tasks on the phone: the results are stored on a local SQLite database. The thing is, each app is only allowed to read and write files within its own application folder. A common file repository would make things much easier.

    As it stands, I’m going to have to rig up some sort of FTP thing to send the results to a remote server. Let’s see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading iPhone 3.0 Software Updates at Samarth Bhaskar.

meta

